Carnival Reviews - Cruise Ship reviews by Cruisemates Readers
Carnival Cruise Lines

Carnival Triumph
by Bob & Tina Bogert
Eastern Caribbean
September 15, 2001

Thursday Eve/Friday 9-13 to 9-14-01
We drove 24 hours 20 minutes straight through from NW Ohio to Miami for our pre-night at the Sheraton Biscayne Bay. (Airline travel was still questionable, as they were just returning to full flight schedules.) Sorry Kuki, we didn't make it to your pre-cruise party. We arrived at the Sheraton Fri. night at 9:20pm.( We were beat.) The Sheraton was very nice.

Saturday 9-15-01 Leaving Miami
There was no pre-check in at the hotel. There were not enough passengers staying there, we were told. We checked out at 11am and went to Bayside Marketplace for breakfast. We did a little shopping there and then it was off to the ship. Traffic was heavy. The guys dropped us off, along with our luggage & went to park the car. ($70 week) We went thru security, check-in, Sail & Sign photos, picked up S&S cards, had our embarkation photo taken & we were on the ship. It really went rather quickly.

The ship was huge. (We had sailed on the Ecstasy before, the Triumph is much larger.) This was our third cruise, but our friends were first timers. They loved the ship, much larger than they thought it would be. We dropped off our carryons in our cabins & went to lunch. After lunch, we picked up the tuxes & went back to our cabins to wait for the lifeboat drill. It didn't take very long, returned our life vests to the cabin & went up top to watch us leave Miami. We didn't leave until about 6 pm. We then got ready for dinner. We had late seating (8pm) in the Paris dining room.Table #414. After dinner, we went to the Rome Lounge for the Welcome Aboard show.

Sunday 9-16-01 At-sea day
We had breakfast in the South Beach Restaurant. (Ate there every morning) Lots to choose from, nice variety of food. Attended the shore excursion talks in the Rome Lounge. We had lunch in the South Beach Rest., then wandered thru the ship. Checked out some of the art, played a few slots & did a little shopping. (Beautiful rings $25 ea. or 2/$39.99) We then booked our shore excursions.

Club Rio was the Captain's Party place. Everyone was dressed up. Lots of sparkles & tuxes. Our captain, Massimo Marino was dashing in his uniform. (My husband can look at the bikinis, I can look at the captain) Dinner was delicious. This was lobster night. Formal pictures were taken, then off to the Rome Lounge for the "Wonderful World" show. It was great. Don't miss it!!!

Monday 9-17-01 San Juan
South Beach buffet for breakfast before the shopping talks. We had lunch in the dining room because our waiter asked us to come. He said that he was bored the day before, as no one showed up. It was very nice. We did more shopping & got our formal pictures from the previous night. We then went up on deck to watch our arrival in San Juan.

We didn't have a tour here. We just got off the ship & walked uptown & did a little shopping. It rained. We went back to the ship for dinner. We were allowed to wear shorts that night, since we were in port. After dinner that night we went on a mission, to find a guy named Marcin. He played with the Amadeo Trio. (We had seen them earlier, but the the group was playing at the time.) They were on break at this time, so I walked up to him & he looked at me. I explained I was looking at his nametag. It said "Marcin." I told him that I was supposed to tell him hi from Traci. He looked at me confused. I told him that they had met on a ship two years ago. He then said "TRACI !!!!" He asked if I was from CA & I told him that I had met Traci on the Cruisemates board. She wanted to know if anyone would be sailing on the Triumph soon, & if they would tell a friend hi for her. Of course I volunteered. Traci, Marcin says "HI !!!" You must have left quite an impression, as he was very excited to hear from you. He seems like a very nice guy!

Tuesday 9-18-01 St. Thomas
We had an early breakfast- as we had a shopping tour, meeting in the Rome Lounge at 8:15. We took a junta to Paradise Point for a little shopping & some photos. We had 45 minutes there. Then back down the hill to downtown Charlotte Amalie. We had a great shopping trip there. ( T-shirts, souveniers, jewelry & a new digital camera.) Caught a junta back to the ship & had lunch in the South Beach Rest. for buffet. (D.R. is closed for lunch in port) The guys got back off to walk to a Radio Shack store that we had seen, for a cell phone charger.

Bob & I got ready for the Past Cruiser's Party. Drinks & appetizers before dinner in the Club Rio. We met Mike & Sheri in the dining room. It was our Silver Anniversary today. They had a bottle of wine waiting. I surprised Bob with a silver watch & he gave me a platinim/diamond ring. It was a fantastic way to celebrate, on a cruise.

The evening show was magic by "Kevin & Caruso." It was really great. ( How'd they do that?) Bob & I went to the casino for a while and Mike & Sheri retired for the evening.

Wednesday 9-19-01 St. Croix
Our shore excursion was cancelled due to the weather. It looked like rain but turned out to be a nice day. After breakfast, we took a van ($12pp/rt) to Christiansted for the day. Had a nice time shopping, had lunch at Hotel on the Cay (ferry ride $3pp/rt) That's where we were supposed to have our Beach Party tour. St. Croix was beautiful! Grabbed a return ride back to Frederiksted & boarded the ship. We rested until dinner.

The Guest Talent Show was the entertainment for the evening. It was great!

Thursday 9-20-01 At-sea day
We slept in, not Bob though. Had breakfast & went to the Rome lounge for the galley tour. Very interesting, the ship has 4 kitchens. They tell you how much food they bring, etc. We had lunch in the D.R. We then played a little bingo, $10 for 6 games. Didn't win anything & then it was time to work on the tan. We watched a little of the frog races & then went up to the topless deck. It is nice & quiet up there. After a while, we watched a little of the Survivor contest going on below us. We then went inside & did more shopping. They had Carnival T-shirts 2 for $20. Nice ones! It was then time to get ready for the 2nd formal night. We had another delicious dinner & more photos were taken. The evening show was Century Cafe featuring the Carnival dancers. It was good!

Friday 9-21-01 Last day at sea
This was a sad day. It was to be our last day on the ship. ( We had received a letter the previous night, offering us another week on board for only $299pp, port fees & taxes included) After much thought, we regretfully turned it down.

My husband went to a golf clinic while we went to breakfast. He was going to take a golf lesson after it. He showed up at breakfast & said the clinic was cancelled, since he was the only one there. We then went to the debarkation talks at 11 am where we met more of the crew.

After lunch we caught the end of the Newlywed/Not So Newlywed game. Bob went to get his golf lesson. We played bingo. During bingo, Bob's name was drawn for a $2000 Tanzanite necklace, from the Omni tickets. Since he wasn't there, they drew another. (The guy behind us was furious. He said the week before, he must have stayed the second week, a mother/daughter's name was drawn & she wasn't there to claim it. They gave it to the other to give to her. They knew I was his wife. I guess it wasn't meant to be.) I gave hubby the bad news when he called the cabin to see if I had returned. We had a couple more souveniers to buy & a few more pictures to take, then we got ready for dinner. After dinner we tipped our waiter & ass't. It was really sad to know the week was over.

The show that night was a juggling act & a singer. It was fun to watch! We then went back to our cabin to fill out customs forms & pack. We went to the midnight buffet for a snack ( Watch out for the green stuff, it was HOT) After putting our suitcases out, we went to bed.

Saturday 9-22-01 Arrive Miami
Breakfast was served only in the Dining Rooms. We then said good-byes to our table servers and went to our cabins to wait for our color to be called. They cleared the ship about 9:30. We were off & had the Durango loaded at 10:35am. It went quickly. We headed north on 95 and we arrived home in Napoleon OH at 1:30 pm on Sunday (27 hrs later, different route home)

Cabin - Category 8a Upper deck w/balcony Great room! #6355 The balcony was awesome. We wonn't leave port without one. ( We had read on posts to bring Christmas lights to decorate it). Lots of storage space, AC worked great (too good in my opinion) hubby likes it cold, I made him warm up my side of the bed. There was some noise at night from below, but the rocking of the ship just put you to sleep. You didn't notice it long.

Room Steward - His name was Mohammed. We didn't see much of him, compared to our last cruises, but he did a great job.

Waiter - Leonardo "Leo" He has been with Carnival for 9 years. He was great. Very personable & very entertaining. We left feeling as though we had made a true friend that week.

Ass't waiter - Anthony "Tony" He did a great job, a little on the quiet side, but always there when you needed something.

Cruise Director - John "Julio" Heald We've sailed twice before with Carnival & John was the CD both times. We were pleased to hear that he was the CD this sailing too.

Captain Massimo Marino - Quite handsome & friendly. We accidently gave him a chorus line kick, doing this in the reflection of the bridge. He just walked up, smiled & waved.

Food - was fantastic! The lobster was perfect, the filet mignon melted in your mouth. Favorite desserts- Hazelnut Creme Brulee, Hot Chocolate Souffle & Grand Marnier Souffle. The chilled orange/tapioca soup was - "soup-erb" We always looked forward to the fresh bread, too.

Ship - Seemed to be in great shape. Small thing here & there, but who cares about a light bulb. They were painting it in port all the time.

OVERALL - My goal was for the four of us to have a fantastic vacation, though I would settle for a great time. It was FANTASTIC! Our first time companions said "It was more fun then they ever imagined!"

This is a condensed version of our 25th Anniversary Cruise. If interested, look for the full version, coming to our website www.thebogerts.net Any questions? E-mail me at tina@thebogerts.net I'll try to help you out.

Bob & Tina Bogert

Ecstasy Aug. '91
Ecstasy June '93
Triumph Sept. '01